Derwent Valley Heritage Way. Day6 Derby to Derwent Mouth.


Well it’s good to wake up in my own bed but, where’s my breakfast?

Sluggish start for which Danny Baker on Radio 5live is only partially to blame.

So I find myself walking from home to Pride Park as I will so often to support the mighty Rams.

Today though is quieter; no excited hoards studiously ignoring reality and believing we are indeed mighty.(This season…….) Instead, families cycling walking, picking blackberries. The river is calm too, and very low.

From Pride Park to Alvaston Park,

As I said in yesterday’s post, we have some great parks in Derby but don’t always make the most of them.

The path follows the Derwent very closely

Here, the river forms a loop, creating an island. The river  is majestic but calm, asserting itself fully on the surrounding landscape. As a reminder though that this river has needed taming ,

this flood barrier was added to in 1932 by the Spondon Sluices.

The path continues to be tarmacked all the way from Derby to Borrowash Bridge then, across a road, the path enters meadows though still following the river.

Although a path continues along the river, the Way takes us up away from the river and to the village of Ambaston.

These sheep have spilled out from the fields I need to cross.

Once through Ambaston-apparently a suburb of Elvaston-  the road is, frankly, boring and today very hot. All the way to Shardlow.

The Ratcliffe on Soar power station dominates the sky line,

in the same way that Riber Castle did in Matlock.

I would have liked to have had lunch after my walk was complete but then I should have a) started early, b) had a fuller breakfast or c) both. As it was I stopped here

by the canal,

for a decent, though anonymous, chain pub lunch. (I could have eaten exactly the same “fayre” back up in Rowsley.)

Onwards along the Trent and Mersey Canal which will soon merge with the Derwent and the Soar. We are in Marina land here;

an idyllic, calm floating village. So it appears in the dry and the sun. Winter might present a different picture.

I knew that the Long Horse Bridge was closed even before I saw this sign-

but I did believe I could bet close. Not far from this however

comes this;

 

 

After 55 miles, I am not actually going to see the point where the Derwent spills into the Trent!

The bridge

won’t be in place until at least June 2012.

I retrace my steps along the canal trying not to feel disappointed. I have had an exhilarating few days and, I didn’t start from the source so. Perhaps I feel more disappointed because there is another path that follows the river and would have taken me to the other side of the bridge, along side the Derwent and Trent. But then I realise that this is the beauty of holidaying so close to home- I can revisit this stage over a weekend, as I can any of the sections of the Derwent Valley Heritage Path.

Well that is the end of my narrative account of my walk. Thanks for your company. I will add a more reflective piece, more detailed notes on my deviations and let you know of any day trips I make along the Way.  I would welcome any comments, suggestions or questions.

Oh look, the bus from Shardlow to Derby stops by the brunswick. Ok then, just the one…….

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Derwent Valley Heritage Way. Day6 Derby to Derwent Mouth.”

  1. Julie n Dave says :

    Sorry it’s taken so long to read it but really enjoyed your blog Paddy.

Leave a Reply

