My Recipe Archive 1- Pot-roast chicken with tomatoes and garlic.


For an explanation of the My Recipe Archive series, click here:

This recipe is typical of the recipes I like- more of a cooking method with a few suggestions. It is also typical of what I want to achieve this year- extending my range of “usual suspect” of cooking, simple and doable, tasty and varied. No precision cooking here- if you want fine dining ideas then please follow someone else…

This recipe is from the Guardian from about 10-15 years ago. I don’t have the author’s name but if any one knows it, please get in touch so that I can add it later. I think the recipe was one of a set of suggestions for holiday home cooking- as I say, simple, use what you’ve got, enjoy the eating as well as the cooking.

I will be cooking this tonight- after I’ve cooked and eaten it I will add photos and comments….. Here is the recipe-

1 large chicken

a good handful of local herbs

extra virgin olive oil

450g of ripe tomatoes

1 large onion

2 cloves of garlic

150ml dry white wine

Preheat the oven to 180C/350F/gas mark4. Put the chicken  in a large, heavy casserole with as much of the oil as your conscience will allow. Tuck the herbs in around the sides of the bird. Core the tomatoes and cut into halves or quarters and chop or slice the onion and garlic as thin or as thick as you like. Dump everything into the pot with the chicken, season with salt and pepper, pour in the wine. Use more or less as you deem appropriate. Cook in the centre of the oven for 1 1/4- 1 1/2 hrs. Serve with bread and a bottle or two of something appropriate.

______________________________________________________________________

So how did it go…..

Firstly, I’d say these aren’t the sort of tomatoes the author had in mind-

SAM_5281

Super chilled supermarket fare- with foresight and planning would have got (In Derby) plum tomatoes from the Pak Store  Best place for fresh fruit and veg, spices…. (no commercial link, just think they are great….)

The herbs were local- thyme and rosemary from the pots by the kitchen door-

SAM_5284

I have to say I added to much wine. This is because I chose the wrong bottle from the fridge. But this is what it looked like in the pan before…

SAM_5285and after….SAM_5286And on the plate….SAM_5287

I have to say that this is a very tasty way to cook chicken, especially if it not of the best quality. (Free range but I suspect, only just…) All the parts of the bird were juicy and tender. I thickened some of the sauce but not sure that was necessary; just using more bread to soak up the juices would have done.

I was about to write: ” a success” but that is not the point. Not every meal has to be great. The important thing for me is trying and experimenting, and on that basis, yes, a success.

Plenty of leftovers- a pasta dish tomorrow and any left over sauce will become chicken stock in the freezer.

Cheers.

Update 30/01/15

I am cooking this again tonight but added dried tarragon instead of the garden herbs above. I recommend buying dried tarragon- it seems to maintain its aroma and taste for a very long time. I bought this jar years ago and keep expecting it to fade but it never does! Ideal with tomatoes and with chicken. As I am on my own tonight I will use some of the chicken with added passata and taglietelle and save the bulk for a meal tomorrow.

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 responses to “My Recipe Archive 1- Pot-roast chicken with tomatoes and garlic.”

  1. justaukcook says :

    If you get the time I always think boning the chicken in pot-roasts makes it go further and it’s very satisfying too. Nice blog… And I like these recipes where you can take them your own way

Leave a Reply

